Once You Know, You Newegg

Boat Ramps and Regulations

Here are some links that will provide you with all you need to know about fishing n Saint Petersburg Florida.
(Links will open in a separate page.)

First of all you will need a fishing license! There are freshwater, saltwater, shore and vessel. There are also other permits like one for keeping a Snook.
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
Florida residents fishing for saltwater species from the shore or from a structure fixed to shore will need a state fishing license.

The annual resident shoreline fishing license costs $9.00. Residents do not need to purchase this license in addition to other saltwater fishing licenses. This $9.00 license covers shoreline fishing only – not fishing from watercraft.

Residents may consider purchasing a $17.00 one-year saltwater license which covers both shoreline and watercraft recreational fishing.

The rules, in general:

* If you are fishing from a boat or land, age 16 or older, you must have a fishing license.
* Charter boats carry a license for their passengers, so those anglers are covered while fishing on that vessel.
* If you bring your own boat, you will need your own fishing license.
* If you are a are a non-resident fishing from boat, land, bridge, or pier, you will need to obtain a fishing license.

Exceptions to the rules (who doesn’t need a fishing license):

* under 16 years of age
* Florida resident over 65 years of age
* fishing from a for-hire vessel
* fishing from a pier with a valid pier saltwater fishing license
* Florida resident who is a member of the U.S. Armed Forces, home on leave for 30 days or less
* Florida resident who possesses a Florida Resident Disabled Person Hinting and Fishing Certificate
* Florida resident who qualifies for food stamps, temporary cash assistance, or Medicaid from Dept. of Children and Family Services and carries and issued ID card while fishing
* Any resident fishing for recreational purposes only, within her or his county of residence with live or natural bait, using poles or lines not equipped with a fishing line retrieval mechanism will not have to purchase a license.

You may also need some species identification assistance. Also the regulations pertaining to size restrictions. Just about everything you need to know is here.
Florida Wildlife Commission main site

Here is a direct link to the saltwater species catalog.
Saltwater Fish Identification and habitat information

Here is a saltwater specific link directly to the page that contains the species identification and other printable documents.
Saltwater Fishing Regulations

How about some bait?
Bait Shops in Saint Petersburg Florida

Equipment and Lighting Requirements

* The owner and/or operator of a vessel is responsible to carry, store, maintain and use the safety equipment required by the U.S. Coast Guard (USCG).
* All vessels are required to have onboard a wearable USCG-approved personal flotation device (PFD) for each person. The PFDs must be of the appropriate size for the intended wearer, be in serviceable condition, and within easy access. The State of Florida urges all people onboard a boat to wear a life jacket.
* Vessels 16 feet in length or longer must also have at least one USCG-approved throwable Type IV PFD that is immediately available in case of a fall overboard.
* A child under the age of 6 must wear a USCG-approved Type I, II or III personal flotation device while onboard a vessel under 26 feet in length while the vessel is under way. “Under way” is defined as anytime except when the vessel is anchored, moored, made fast to the shore or aground.
* Vessels with built-in fuel tanks or enclosed compartments where gasoline fumes can accumulate are required to carry at least one fire extinguisher (depending upon vessel length) which is approved for marine use.
* All vessels are required to carry an efficient sound-producing device, such as a referee’s whistle.
* Vessels less than 16 feet in length are required to carry at least 3 visual distress signals approved for nighttime use when on coastal waters from sunset to sunrise. Vessels 16 feet or longer must carry at least 3 daytime and three nighttime visual distress signals (or 3 combination daytime/nighttime signals) at all times when on coastal waters.
* The use of sirens or flashing, occulting or revolving lights is prohibited except where expressly allowed by law.
* Recreational vessels are required to display navigation lights between sunset and sunrise and during periods of reduced visibility (fog, rain, haze, etc.). The U.S. Coast Guard Navigation Rules specify lighting requirements for every description of watercraft. The information provided in the following link is for vessels less than 65.5 feet/20 meters in length: http://boat-ed.com/fl/course/p4-9_navlights.htm.

Places to put your watercraft in the water.
Saint Petersburg Boat Ramps

Where to fish in the Saint Petersburg Tampa area. Ok, here is a list of the absolute best fishing spots..
Best spots to fish in the Saint Petersburg / Tampa area

Hopefully, the above information will assist someone new to the area or just getting in to fishing. I will add more links as I search for information myself. Wishing you great luck out there and BE SAFE!

Check out a couple other things I posted here:
Solar Powered Canoe
Solar Powered Canoe in action
22 inch Sheepshead
Ghost shot in my gallery at WV Penitentiary